In Paris he outsprinted Dylan Groenewegen and Niccolò Bonifazio. October 17, 2019 Gregor Brown The Tour de France will start on Saturday, August 29 in Nice, France and ends on Sunday, September 20 as the riders finish on the Champs-Élysées in Paris. In 2018, Alexander Kristoff took the spoils, while Dylan Groenewegen powered to victory in 2017. The fastest recorded speed at the 2019 Tour de France came on a white-knuckle descent of the Col de Vars by one of the peloton’s hard men. Mark Cavendish was named the Tour de France's best sprinter of all time by French paper L'Equipe on July 15, 2012. Tour de France is a team sport that features a total of 198 cyclists in 22 teams of nine. Caleb Ewan was the most successful sprinter in last year’s Tour de France. Bennett took two stage victories this year – stage 10 and stage 21 – and also came away with the points classification on what was a breakthrough Tour … Sam Bennett’s Deceuninck-QuickStep has welcomed the unveiling of next year’s Tour de France route, saying there were many opportunities likely to suit sprinters. Erik Zabel won a record nine points classifications: six in the Tour de France and three in the Vuelta a España. – Degenkolb reacts to 2020 Tour de France route German sprinter sees few pure sprint opportunities in 2020 Tour's unconventional parcours. Tour de France 2020 live Cycling Results, Standings and News The entire race consists of 21 stages and is approximately 3,470 kilometers, or 2,1576 miles, long. He rode the Tour de France in 2015 and 2016 when with the nascent … Watch live races and get the Tour de France schedule, stage results and more on Over the course of 21 days, usually in July, cyclists cover a race course extending 3,500 kilometers. At least seven stages of the 2017 Tour de France are expected to end in sprint finishes – maybe more if the day’s tactics pan out. The Pocket Rocket stormed to three triumphs. Slowest Tour de France: 24.1km/h. His tally currently stands on 48 stage wins in Grand Tours, 30 of which have been bunch sprints in the Tour de France. On the other end of the scale, in 1919, Firmin Lambot won the race with the slowest ever winning average speed of 24.1km/h.